Your basket

Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Waveney District Council

About Waveney

Waveney is a local government district in Suffolk, named after the River Waveney that forms its north east border. The district council is based in Lowestoft, the major settlement in Waveney. The other towns in the district are Beccles, Bungay, Halesworth and Southwold. The area covers 143 square mile (340 km2) and has a population of approximately 117,000.

Making Waves Together

While Waveney and Great Yarmouth have so much in common, sharing connected maritime histories, similar socio-economic stories and a rapidly growing off shore renewable energy sector, both towns have embarked on their own cultural pathway. Making Waves Together will tie both towns in an inseparable cultural bond through delivering a broad range of cultural activity inspiring and engaging our communities as both participants and audiences. The aim of the programme is to strengthen both areas and make them more attractive place to visit, work, learn and live in. It will also raise the profile of the cultural organisations involved and make their offer more accessible to communities.