Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Refine your search

Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Guided Walk item typeRows, Fishwives and Red Herrings - Guided Walk at The Fishermen's Hospitaladd to shortlist

Guided Walk/Tour, from 16 Apr 2019, £2-£4.50

Entrance to the Rows

Entrance to the Rows

Rows, Fishwives & Red Herrings - Guided Walk
Entrance to the Rows

Details

The unique Great Yarmouth Rows are full of strange and sometimes macabre tales.

Our trained heritage tour guides will tell you stories of the wealthy merchants that lived at one end and of the bars and brothels that had their place at the other!

Walk through to the historic South Quay, learn more about the beautiful architecture and the rise and fall of the herring industry and its importance to the growth of the town.

Hear about the fisher girls and see where they sang, knitted and worked their passage home.

Walk Route: Town Centre to South Quay

Access: Flat but some areas are cobbled

Duration: Approximately1.5 hours

Children welcomeDisabled accessDogs accepted

Event details

Dates Times
Tue 16 Apr 2019 11:00
Tue 7 May 2019 14:00
Tue 28 May 2019 11:00
Tue 18 Jun 2019 14:00
Tue 9 Jul 2019 11:00
Thu 25 Jul 2019 14:00
Thu 8 Aug 2019 11:00
Thu 22 Aug 2019 14:00
Sun 29 Sep 2019 11:00
Sun 20 Oct 2019 11:00
Starting point for this walk is the Fisherman's Hospital.

Prices

Tickets available on the day from your tour guide.

£4.50 Adults
£2.00 Children (7-17)
Children under 7 free
No unaccompanied children allowed.

Address

The Fishermens Hospital,
Great Yarmouth,
Norfolk,
NR30 1ND

Facilities

  • Children welcomeChildren welcome
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Dogs acceptedDogs accepted

Directions

See location of The Fishermen's Hospital on Google mapsSee location on Google maps

Map reference: TG 524078  Lat: 52.61010 Long: 1.72738